if i can make it there i’ll make it anywhere

Australia is not immune to the reality television phenomenon. In fact, we have the Australianised versions of the American television shows The Biggest Loser, So You Think You Can Dance Australia, Dancing With The Stars, Big Brother (thankfully now axed), and a whole host of reality home/garden/waste line make over programs.

Before leaving Australia, I spent some time with my family in Singleton, in the Hunter Valley of New South Wales. While musing over the recent season of “Fatties” – our family colloquialism for The Biggest Loser – my brother in law mused upon the merits of combining a weight loss and dancing program reality style television program where people can be voted off for not losing enough weight, not dancing well enough, or eating their own ballet slippers.

I don’t know who he was channeling that day, but he was definitely onto something.

In an “Only In America” moment, I would like to show you below that the proof is in the pudding … although I think the contestants on this show ate it. Here, a billboard from around 41st in Manhattan, New York.

I don’t know about you, but I’ll be watching.

Just no lifts please, Jason Gilkison.

6

I remember the days when Oprah just went on a diet.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

